Day 96 of 100 Days of Code & Scrum: Stringed Along by MySQL

Day 96 of 100 Days of Code & Scrum: Stringed Along by MySQL

·

2 min read

Hello there, everyone!

TIL, SQL index starts with 1, not with 0. I'm really surprised at this fact, because I'm way too used to counting starting from 0 when programming. I find myself easily thrown off when mentally calculating index-related stuff in SQL, because of 1-based index. Either way, it's just something I need to take into account.

That aside, I spent most of my free time today learning string-related functions in MySQL. I didn't learn all of the functions in the MySQL string functions documentation, but I familiarized them. What I focused on were the most commonly used string functions.

Anyway, let's move on to my daily report!

Yesterday

I did basic CRUD practice exercises in MySQL to get more used to them.

Today

MySQL

  • I learned how to utilize the most commonly used string functions in MySQL such as:
    • CONCAT - concatenates multiple strings together.
    • UPPER - converts a string to uppercase.
    • LOWER - converts a string to lowercase.
    • REVERSE - reverses the order of characters in a string.
    • REPLACE - takes in a string, and replaces substring with another substring.
    • SUBSTRING - retrieves a substring from a string, starting and ending indices can be selected.
    • CHAR_LENGTH - returns the number of characters in a string.
  • skimmed through MySQL string functions documentation.
  • continued Colt Steele's MySQL course.

Scrum

Thank you for reading! Have a good day!

Rammina Thank You Banner

Resources/Recommended Readings

DISCLAIMER

This is not a guide, it is just me sharing my experiences and learnings. This post only expresses my thoughts and opinions (based on my limited knowledge) and is in no way a substitute for actual references. If I ever make a mistake or if you disagree, I would appreciate corrections in the comments!